BCM 215 beta presentation (What I did and changed)

As the video mentioned, I did some changes to my progress because I believe those iterations can help my target audience to understand clearly. 

  1. Removed the focus on 3D simulations (Subjective to analyze, maybe I think the simulation is not accurate to represent the face of Asian player while some people may disagree with that. Also, the game mainly uses data to represent the ability of footballers and those data are comparable.)
  2. The game changed to eFootball PES 2021 (It is the latest game released by Konami, and the data of the players are transparent and accurate, it has a lot of databases made by the fans of the game. I can use the data from the database rather than just analyze my players, the results must be fruitful than analyze my Asian footballers. This game is the evolved version which contains two types of playing experience. Directly controlling a team to play/play as a coach or manager)

Feedbacks from the tutor and other students

After I received the feedback on the pitch from the tutor, I started to work on the archaeology of sports games, including the development of PES and the whole sports game development. Also, I am working on how the game represents bias on Asian players such as I am researching some articles that how the real world showing bias on Asians. Although the problem of Asian stereotypes are decreasing while the game still controlling the message of Asian player are worst than other religion players. 

Progress of DA

The progress of my DA keeps going and I started to draft my video. I am working on the content of the video like the archaeology of the sports games. The data of the game also be analyzed in the coming weeks, after I gather the results of the data analysis, I will work on the para-text of the game like the ads from the official site and the cover photos of the game. 

Analytic framework

As I mentioned in the pitch video, I am going to investigate how PES represents and enhances the bias on Asian Footballers. I read some articles to understand more about sport simulation games including what sports simulation video games tend to bring out to players. “Unlike most videogame genres, the ongoing quest for more realistic representations causes sports games to become more like the “real thing”. (Fares Kayali, Peter Purgathofer, 2018). In the past 65 years, sports video games started to engage the game industry. It has different types of sports simulations game such as management simulations, extreme simulations, and action simulations. (Andrew, 2014). Different simulations bring varies playing experience to players while all of them has one goal is to simulate the reality. “Representational games that try to simulate reality to every extent possible raise the bar for success very high” (Fares Kayali, Peter Purgathofer, 2018). In simulations game, especially in sport types, the game developers not just offer an experience to players to engage with the sports world, they also attempt to let players understand what is happening in the real sports world. If the game can represent reality accurately, the game will be popular and being a success. 

However, in the reality. Sports contain a lot of stuff including news, habit, etc. However, bias or stereotypes on Asian alethic is existing. One of the famous examples is the NBA and Jeremy Lin. He is an Asian alethic while he has a terrible journey in NBA, although he joined the NBA team before he has been transferring to different teams and he still got kicked out of the NBA world. He also mentioned some teams have strong stereotypes of Asian players because other teammates think that Asain has a weak body and ability to play sport. So, when some sports game tries to represent the reality of the sports world, the bias or stereotypes on Asian maybe represent in the game like PES football 2021, they have some bias on Asian footballer including the rating of players. 

Reference:
Baerg, A 2014, The Routledge Companion to Video Game Studies : Sports, P.267-274
Crawford, C. (1997). The art of computer game design [Electronic version]. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.
Fares K & Peter P, TWO HALVES OF PLAY Simulation versus Abstraction and Transformation in Sports Videogames Design, Eludamos. Journal for Computer Game Culture. 2008, 2 (1), p.105-127

5 thoughts on “BCM 215 beta presentation (What I did and changed)

  1. Hi Leo, Firstly, I liked how you said you’ll talk about what’s PES. Honestly speaking I myself doesnt know which game is PES as Im not into games. So its very important to talk about or briefly explain something which you are going to present to your audience so they know about it as well. Secondly, I liked how you have made changes which included the game itself. You mentioned you are changing to the E-Football PES 2021 so that you can get accurate and concise data which is a very good thing. Lastly, I liked how you have worked on the comments you have received from your peers because learning and taking advice from others is very important. I have read the comments in your video which you have received from your classmates and teacher, if you can work on it, you final product will be a perfect piece of work. Your beta video is very well made, which has talked about how you’ll finish your project which will be in the form of a video and you also talked about the maximum duration of how long the video would be. Good luck with it, and looking forward to a great piece of work from you.

    Like

  2. I think it is smart move to switch your focus from PESCM to eFootball PES 2021 as it is the most updated one. You can see the changes from the old one to the new one and make a better text/paratext analysis on it. Comparing the database is the fundamental of your project therefore I think you should still include the old PESCM as your source of development – it not being transparent is the perfect argument why it was a problem at the first place. Your research displays an in-dept and commitment and understanding both PESCM and eFootball PES 2021. The brief presentation of your projects effectively shows the advantages and disadvantages.
    As for archeology, I understand there is limited studies as it just got updated. I recommend you a news reading, although it was in 2016. I hope it will help you form your points on how it all started and how it led to the question in your project.
    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/sep/19/pro-evolution-soccer-2017-review-konami-football-fifa

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started